Ayurveda Teacher Training Banner


Ayurveda is an ancient healing science originates from two different words Ayu and Veda. These means the life and knowledge of science respectively. Ayurveda is not the science that only deals with some diseases. This has the healing power to complete way of life. Ayurveda aims to make everyone’s life happy and healthy with a peaceful society. The two most important aims of Ayurveda are:

  • ॐ  To maintain the health of healthy people
  • ॐ  To cure the diseases of sick people

In Ayurveda an individual person is seen as made up of five primary elements: water, air, fire, ether (space), and earth.

Like nature, we also possess these five elements in us. When there is an imbalance of these elements in nature, it influences our life. The climate we enjoy and food, water we took are just examples of these elements influences. As a composite of these five primary elements, certain elements have an ability to combine to create various physiological functions.

The elements combine with Ether and Air in dominance to form what is known in Ayurveda as Vata Dosha. The movement principle is governs by Vata, through force it directs nerve impulses, circulation, respiration, and elimination etc.

Pitra Dosha is originate when food and water is combined domencially. The reason behind the process of transformation or metabolism is because of Pitra Dosha. The transformation of foods into nutrients that our bodies can assimilate is an example of a Pitta function. Also it is only Pitta that is responsible for cellular metabolism, metabolism in the organ and tissue systems.

Finally, Kapha Dosha is the result  of water and earth elements combination. The reason behind for growth, adding structure unit by unit is Kapha. It also offers protection. For example, in form of a cerebral-spinal fluid, which protects the brain and spinal column. The mucous lining of the stomach is another example of the function of Kapha Dosha protecting the tissues.

Shatkarma & Kriya – Cleansing Techniques

ayurveda- shree hari yoga schoolPart of Ayurvedic Therapy methods is ‘The Shatkarma or the six purification techniques in Hatha Yoga. Designed to make the body strong and healthy. ‘Shat’ means six and ‘Karma’ here means a method or technique. Shatkarmas are considered preparatory steps towards higher practices of pranayama and meditation. The ancient Rishis recognized the importance of a healthy body for all activities, whether worldly or spiritual. Hatha Yoga, as explained in the text ‘Hatha Yoga Pradeepika’, is aimed at making the body and mind fit for higher practices of Raja Yoga.’

Welcome to Shree Hari Yoga School. How can I help you?