Detailed Guide On The 7 Main Chakras

You must have heard about chakras before. They find mention in Reiki classes and yoga classes, both. No matter, what other modality or healing therapy you must have done, they have been mentioned at least once. But now, you must have understood, that they probably preside over the ‘nadis’. But what are they and what do they do? You will find out more about them in detail here.

What Are Chakras?

With the growth of chakras and other new-age shamans, the discussion revolving around chakras has taken predominance. They are basically a part of the ancient energy systems, that were first mentioned in the Vedas.

You can understand them in a better context, if you get to know that chakras are mainly energy centres, or spinning discs of energy located along the spine. Moreover, they correspond to various organs and nerve bundles, that are located in each segment. So, they rule over those organs. But there is something amazing about it. You cannot find them marked in any biology book. That is because, you cannot see them. They are a part of the energetic body.  However, you are affected by them, emotionally and physically. It is believed that there are at least 114 chakras in the body. However, you need to know about the seven main ones first.

Each one of these seven chakras, has a number, name, colour, and specific health focus. Now, that should be easy for you to understand.

Seven Chakras Decoded

  • Root Chakra – You will also hear the term Muladhara chakra, associated with the chakra. It is red in colour. This chakra has a very important role to play, which mainly revolves around stability, balance, and grounding. If the root chakra gets blocked in any manner, it can quickly lead to arthritis, stomach issues, constipation, colon problems or some mental problems as well. You may turn insecure about money. If it is aligned properly, you will feel grounded and secure, to the core. It has both mental as well as physical repercussions. The root chakra mainly starts to develop from age 1-7 years.
  • Sacral Chakra – Also called the Svadhishthana chakra, it helps to relate to your own emotions and those of the others as well. It also governs sexual energy and creativity. If your sacral chakra is blocked, you will feel a lack of control in your life. It is located in the lower abdomen, around 2 inches under the navel. Its colour is orange, and it develops from 8-14 years of age. If it is functioning well, you will enjoy the abundance around you at all times.
  • Solar Plexus – It is also called the Manipura Chakra. It can give you an enormous amount of confidence in your life. If your Manipura chakra, happens to be blocked, you will always feel self-doubt and embarrassment. If it is functioning well, you will be very expressive about your needs and wants. Located in the upper part of the abdomen, its color is yellow. It develops from 15-21 years of age. It controls self-love and esteem.
  • Heart Chakra – The heart chakra is also known as Anahata Chakra. It mainly acts as the connection between the lower chakras and the upper chakras. You will learn to give as well as receive love, through this chakra. If your Anahata chakra is blocked for any reason, you will feel a lack of compassion and empathy. It is located right in the centre of the chest, just above the heart. Moreover, its colour is green and it is airy in nature. It develops from 21-28 years of age.
  • Throat Chakra – The fifth chakra that has a huge effect on the body is the Vishuddha chakra. It gives you a voice and the ability to communicate with others. It mainly gives you the ability to communicate your personal power. You can express yourself in a proper manner, if the chakra is functioning properly. If your chakra is blocked, you will have trouble finding words for communication. It goes without saying, that its location is the throat. It is light blue in color and its element is music. It is activated by sound. It mainly develops from 29-35 years.
  • Third Eye Chakra – You will also hear the name Ajna chakra associated with it. It mainly helps you to control the big scenario. You can also develop a lot of intuition, if your third eye chakra is open. Some practitioners also call it the brow chakra. If it is active, you will be wise. The colour is dark blue or purple. It develops between 36-42 years of age. If you want to be a creative genius, the chakra has to be open and active. So, it is also very beneficial for those who meditate.
  • Crown Chakra – You can also hear the name, Sahasrara associated with it. It is the highest chakra in the human body which is associated with spirituality. You can also call it the seat of spirituality. If you are able to open it, you can connect with the divine. The colour of this chakra is white. And you will find it developing between 43-49 years. Moreover, it is very important in yoga, so that you can attain salvation. You can also practice Kundalini meditation or get an awakening done, to open the chakras.

Final Words

Now, that you know about the chakras or the seven seats of power, you can easily work on developing them and aim for their opening. Your chakras are invisible to the naked eye, but they are a huge seat of power. You can find out very easily, if the chakras are open or closed. If you see symptoms related to their blocked nature, then you must act fast to develop them. Yoga is one of the modalities that can help you to unblock the chakras. Get ready to receive all the love from the universe and get the chakras opened. The best is in store for you, but you should know, where to look for it.

author avatar
Shree Hari Yoga
Welcome to Shree Hari Yoga School. How can I help you?